Introibo ad altare Dei, ad Deum qui lætificat juventutem meam

It is thunderstorming here, and it’s quite beautiful.  I’m also a little under the weather and not focused on studying, so what better time to begin this new blog I’ve been meaning to start!  I have had a few other sites, most notably my Tumblr under the same username, and I read many blogs from afar, but I’ve decided it’s time that I join in with my fellow bloggers who inspire me and support me in many ways, from reflecting on the intersection of intellect and faith in University, teaching me many things (from Liturgy and Latin to cloth diapers and coconut oil), allowing me to live vicariously through their stories of parenting, and showing me an inside peek of a music therapist’s thoughts on the job.  A big “Thank You” is going out right now to all of you who share your voices boldly for anyone to hear!  And to anyone reading this, Welcome!  I don’t really know how this is going to go, but I guess you and I will figure that out as it unfolds.  That’s kind of how my whole life is right now, two months away from graduation and six months away from marriage.  Wooo!  It’s so scary and exciting.

9 thoughts on “Introibo ad altare Dei, ad Deum qui lætificat juventutem meam

  1. So glad that you are starting this!

    About cloth diapers: the woman for whom I am babysitting uses cloth diapers on both of her daughters and highly recommends them. If you’d like, I can ask her more about where she got them, etc.

    Dominus tecum.

    • You got the babysitting job! I’m so happy for you! And if you find out more from her, pass it on. We have some friends in Lucas’s hometown who are also cloth-diapering parents. If you have a good setup, it can be quite efficient. And so cost-effective.

      • Thank you!

        That was her comment on cloth diapering, as well. She also commended its environmental benefits. Also, she found that her daughters had significantly less diaper rash – only one case.

      • No kidding. Provided a) I ever marry or b) God blesses me with children, I would definitely consider cloth diapering.

        Isn’t it interesting how the effects of this culture have been so strongly counteracted by Catholics? For example, homeschooling is returning in vogue, as well as cloth diapering. There’s a return to the Mass roots, using direct translation from the Latin, and further, a breeding interest in Gregorian chant, Latin, and expanding usage of the Extraordinary Form.

        Such grace!

  2. Hello, my name is vincent lamperski. I am replying to the previous comment. I have questions about home schooling. When I think about it, I think only bad things because the kids I have met that have been homeschooled have had serious social interaction problems. Is this a myth or do homeschoolers suffer socially? I am more curious than anything. I mean I would probably never homeschool my kids but I want to know why the other option exists.

    • Homeschooling, if done well by parents who are truly called to do so, can be the best education for a child. Every child has different needs, so I believe whether or not to homeschool should be decided on a child-by-child basis. When it works, it provides a great learning environment with fewer restrictions on learning methods, better flexibility for things like spontaneous field trips (“Let’s go to the museum to learn how people lived back then!” “Let’s go out in the garden to learn about how different plants grow!”), and most importantly, the parent-child bond that helps the child feel safe and encourages uninhibited curiosity without fear of judgment. For more on that topic (importance of parent-child bond), look up the phrase “attachment parenting”. Of course, social development is important, which is why there are groups for homeschoolers in many areas to get together for joint classes and activities, and many school districts invite local homeschoolers to participate in extracurricular activities. Honestly, the homeschooled friends I know are some of the most well-read, independent thinkers I know. (Maybe I should do a post on this sometime…)

    • Since I was actually homeschooled, I figured I’d get in on this :)

      This debate always makes me laugh. Growing up (and now as adults) people we met were always confused when I or one of my siblings would reveal that we were homeschooled. “Really? I never would have guessed!” is usually the reply. We had a lot of friends from activities and the neighborhood to keep us occupied and well socialized. I spent hours and hours as a kid with the neighbors playing capture the flag, only coming in when we couldn’t see anymore.

      Homeschooling, itself, does not cause social awkwardness; remiss parenting does. Socializing is a skill that were learn early, and the difference with homeschoolers is that we learn a lot about socialization at home. It short, if your parents are awkward or just don’t teach you how to socialize you have a much higher chance of becoming that awkward homeschooler that everyone stereotypes. That said, one of the most socially awkward homeschoolers I have ever met e’s also one of the most intelligent, thoughtful, and interesting people that I knew in my high school years.

    • Vincent: check out this article.

      http://www.homefires.com/articles/odd_children.asp

      The adults I know who were homeschooled have actually turned out significantly better than the majority of the non-homeschooled people I know. It wasn’t necessarily that they were socially inept or anything, it was a matter of negative cultural trends leaking into school systems, which their parents wanted to avoid.

      Growing up in a public school, we were told that homeschooled kids were ‘different’ and ‘awkward’, but honestly, now that I’ve graduated and have had a few years on my own, I agree that they’re different – but actually more confident and better socially than many of the people with whom I graduated. Because they weren’t held back in any way, they are also incredibly intelligent.

      I’m all for it! Hope the article helps. :-)

Leave a Reply

